Skip to main content

Food Acts in Australia

Food Safety Supervisors can help to ensure that appropriate food allergen management practices are in place in your food business and that all staff are kept up to date.

Food Safety Supervisors are currently mandatory in:

  • New South Wales
  • Queensland
  • Victoria
  • Australian Capital Territory

Food Safety Supervisors are highly recommended, but not mandatory in:

  • Western Australia
  • Tasmania
  • South Australia
  • Northern Territory

Your local council can provide more guidance on the licensing and Food Safety Supervisor requirements for your state. If you are in a region where there is currently no requirement to have a Food Safety Supervisor, this does not mean that you can’t have one.

To better understand your region’s specific Food Act, click on a link below:

 Australian Capital Territory

 New South Wales

 Northern Territory


 South Australia



 Western Australia

Content updated August 2021